This state has banned smartphones interior polling booths

Bengaluru: Electorate in Karnataka will now not be allowed to hold smart telephones or cellular telephones inside the polling booth while voting to prevent them from taking selfies or recording motion pictures, an authentic stated on Sunday. “The Model Code of Conduct (MCC) prevents citizens from carrying mobile phones or clever telephones and cameras in the polling booth. No voter can take their mobile phone within 100 meters of the sales space.

“They will go away it at home or deposit it with the police personnel before entering the booth,” Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar instructed IANS. Another poll legitimately admitted that even though the MCC had the ban provision in 2008, it was not enforced strictly throughout the preceding elections for reasons such as workforce scarcity and the absence of net-linked smartphones with a camera.

“The provision to now does not allow cell telephones or clever-telephones within the booth turned into discovered more in breach within the past, as no longer many voters had them decade or five years in the past or carried them while going to vote,” recalled senior poll reputable Surya Sen. With most city electorate now the usage of digital camera-wielding smartphones, all through the May 2018 Assembly elections, many have been stuck taking selfies at the same time as casting their vote or making films within the sales space as a proof of workout their franchise. “This 12 months, the security personnel had been told to prevent citizens from wearing a cellular or a telephone within the booth,” said Kumar.

“If the security employees are busy, the electorate can depart their gadgets with celebration marketers who take a seat outdoor the cubicles with the voter lists,” Kumar introduced. Polling officials protect employees and others manning cubicles, such as presiding officers, their assistants, and sellers of applicants. However, they will be allowed to carry and use smart telephones. Karnataka has a 5.11 crore electorate, including 2.6 crore male and 2.5 crore lady citizens and 661 others.

The range of polling cubicles in 28 seats throughout the country has elevated 7 in line with cent from fifty-four,265 in the 2014 elections to 58,186 this yr. The state’s 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the primary and southern areas visited polls on April 18, while the remaining 14 parliamentary seats voted on April 23.
The 14 constituencies polling inside the first segment is Udupi-Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga (SC), Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajnagar (SC), Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkaballapur, and Kolar (SC).

Those in the second phase are Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur (SC), Gulbarga (SC), Raichur (ST), Bidar, Koppal, Bellary (ST), Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davanagere, and Shimoga. The votes might be counted on May 23. Follow Gadgets Now on Facebook and Twitter. For modern-day information, tech information, breaking news headlines, and stay updated, check out Gadgetsnow.Com.


I’m a technophile who loves everything about technology. I enjoy learning new things about new gadgets and technologies. I started Droidific because I wanted to share what I was learning with other people who love gadgets, new technology, and all the different ways they can be useful.